. . : Car Rental Agency : . .

langue FrançaisEnglish

The medina of Fez: :


Fes or Fez is the third largest city in Morocco after Casablanca and Rabat. This is one of the four imperial cities (Marrakech, Meknes and Rabat).

The medina (old city), World Heritage Site by UNESCO is a model example of an eastern city. It is unchanged since the twelfth century.

The deep blue of its ceramic is one of the characteristic symbols of Fez. It has the largest medina in the world. Its international past makes it one of the capitals of Muslim civilization along with Damascus, Baghdad, Cordoba, Granada ..., Tlemcen.

According to legend, the city name comes from the discovery of a pick (Arabic: فأس [F's], pick) to the location of the first foundations.

The history of Fez:

The first core of the city known as Fes al Bali, was founded by Idris 1 in 172H / 789 AD on the right bank of Wadi Fez to the location of the area known as the Andalusians. This name comes from the first settlement of the city which, in addition to native, receiving refugee families after the famous Andalusian riot occurred in the suburb of Cordova August 1 7-1 8.

In 857

EIn 857, a woman named Fatima al Fihriya built near the left bank of the mosque Karaouyine become the largest sanctuary in the city. It will be enlarged by Youssef bin Tachefine Almoravids (1060-1106) who took the city in 1069, just as it unifies the city originally divided into two neighborhoods, destroyed the walls that separated the two and creates a revival of economic life by constructing foundouqs (inns), baths and mills.

En 908-9

In 908-9, the son of Idris I founded a new city on the left bank of the Oued Fez, exactly opposite the area of ​​Andalusia, the location of the headquarters of Kairouan. This name comes from, for its part, the arrival of families from this town in lfriqya (present Tunisia). The city was surrounded by a wall pierced with six gates and a mosque. In the city opposite, Idriss He also built an enclosure, a mosque, a palace and a market.

In 1143

In 1143, after a siege of nine months, Fez is occupied by the Almohad (1130-1269). Behind its walls, the city is organized: as Marrakech, it has its places of worship, trade, its system of water supply, its corporations, its aristocracy, and so on.

In the mid-century Xlllth

With Merinids who conquered the middle of the century Xlllth, Fez became the capital of Morocco and knows its golden age. Their first great ruler, Abu Youssef Yacoub (1258-1286) founded Fez Jdid (the Newfoundland) in 1276, immediately west of the city, the fortified enclosure of a potent, with a large mosque, neighborhoods residential palace (missing), gardens. At the fourteenth century, a Jewish neighborhood, the first Mellah of Morocco, came to join with the new foundation. But Merinids ahead primarily as builders of madrassas, these colleges different characteristics of size and decor, rivaling in beauty and symmetry organized around a patio porch more or less extensive whose center is occupied by a basin or a basin

. . : Agence de location de voitures : . .

langue FrançaisEnglish

La médina de Fès :


Fès ou Fez est la troisième plus grande ville du Maroc, après Casablanca et Rabat . C’est l’une des quatre villes impériales (avec Marrakech, Meknès et Rabat).

La médina (vieille ville), classée au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO est un exemple modèle d’une ville orientale. Elle est inchangée depuis le XIIe siècle.

Le bleu profond de ses céramiques est un des symboles caractéristiques de Fès. Elle possède la plus grande médina du monde. Son rayonnement international passé en fait l’une des capitales de la civilisation arabo-musulmane aux côtés de Damas, Bagdad, Cordoue, Grenade…, Tlemcen.

Selon une légende, le nom de la ville viendrait de la découverte d'une pioche (arabe : فأس [fa's], pioche) à l'emplacement des premières fondations.

L'histoire de Fès :

Le premier noyau de la ville connue sous le nom de Fès al Bali, fut fondé par Idris 1er, en 172H/ 789 J-C sur la rive droite de l'oued Fès à l'emplacement du quartier dit des Andalous. Cette appellation provient du premier peuplement de la ville qui, en plus des autochtones, reçoit des familles de réfugiés andalous après la célèbre émeute du faubourg de Cordoue survenue en 8 1 7-1 8.

En 857

EEn 857, une femme dénommée Fatima al Fihriya fit construire dans le quartier de la rive gauche la mosquée Karaouyine devenue le plus grand sanctuaire de la ville. Elle sera agrandie par l'almoravide Youssef ben Tachefin (1060-1106) qui prend la ville en 1069, de même qu'il unifie la cité à l'origine divisée en deux quartiers, détruit les murailles qui la séparaient en deux et suscite un renouveau de la vie économique en construisant foundouqs (hôtelleries), bains et moulins.

En 908-9

En 908-9, le fils d’Idris I fonde une nouvelle ville sur la rive gauche de l'oued Fès, exactement en face du quartier des andalous, à l'emplacement du quartier des Kairouanais. Cette appellation provient, pour sa part, de la venue de familles originaires de cette ville située en lfriqya (Tunisie actuelle). La ville fut entourée d'une enceinte percée de six portes et dotée d'une mosquée. Dans la ville d'en face, Idriss Il fit également construire une enceinte, une mosquée, un palais et un marché.

En 1143

En 1143, au terme d'un siège de neuf mois, Fès est occupée par les Almohades (1130-1269). Derrière ses murailles, la ville s'organise: comme Marrakech, elle possède ses lieux de culte, de commerce, son système d'approvisionnement en eau, ses corporations, son aristocratie, etc.

Au milieu du Xlllème siècle

Avec les Mérinides qui la conquièrent au milieu du Xlllème siècle, Fès devient capitale du Maroc et connait son âge d'or. Leur premier grand souverain, Abou Youssef Yacoub (1258-1286) fonde Fès Jdid (la Neuve) en 1276, immédiatement à l'ouest de la ville, la fortifie d'une enceinte puissante, la dote d'une grande mosquée, de quartiers résidentiels, de palais (disparus), de jardins. Au XlVème siècle, un quartier juif, le premier Mellah du Maroc, vint s'adjoindre à la nouvelle fondation. Mais les Mérinides s'annoncent surtout comme bâtisseurs de medersas, ces collèges caractéristiques différents de taille et de décor, rivalisant de beauté et de symétrie, organisés autour d'un patio à portique plus ou moins vaste dont le centre est occupé par une vasque ou un bassin.